In the glow of Christmas

Posted On December 12, 2006

Filed under News Australia
Tags: , ,

Comments Dropped leave a response

Giant, glowing Christmas beetles have invaded the State Library of Queensland at South Bank, Australia.

Queensland College of Art student Elishia Whitchurch said the plague of about 46, 30cm long copper beetles were installed around the entry of the library after she won a competition to design Christmas decorations for the newly renovated building.

“The State Library came to Uni and asked for submissions for festive decorations, but they wanted them to be inclusive, and not specifically about one religion but something that all Queenslanders could relate to” Ms Whitchurch, said.

“So I thought about when as a child I would go to my grandparents’ house on the school holidays for Christmas, and there were heaps of these beetles stuck to the screen door. They would get into my hair and really freak me out. But they were a strong memory I had about Christmas as a child” she added.

The sculptures have a slightly iridescent glow during the day and light-sensitive LEDs come on at dusk to light the beetles from underneath.

